# APPROVED October 31, 2014

# University Senate Minutes of the Senate September 19, 2014

Members Present: Alinaa Alsaud, Lisa Burkhart, Tim Classen, David Embrick, Michael Fasullo, Alanah Fitch, Lucas Fleisher, Richard Gamelli, Zelda Harris, Adam Hepp, Tyler Hough, Pamela Johnson, Thomas Kelly, Vicki Keough, Terri Kilbane, Joyce Knight, Timothy Lacy, Ronald Martin, Niamh McGuigan, Kenechukwu Mmeje, Melissa Niksic, Christopher Peterson, Noah Sobe, Dian Squire, Anne Sutter, Maria Udo, Bastiaan Vanacker, David Yellen

The meeting was called to order at 3:07p.m.

#### I. Welcome and Announcements & Group photo

The chair declared a quorum and welcomed all of the members. He discussed the Senate Outreach events which are being billed as "Meet the Senators" events, with coffee and donuts. The Senate sat for a group photo.

#### II. Approval of minutes from April 25, 2014

N. Sobe proposed a Motion to approve April 25th minutes as amended. J.Knight seconded.

The question was called and the motion carried with following vote:

For -15

Against - 0

Abstentions - 8

#### III. Notification and Discussion of Bylaws Revisions to be ratified at Next Meeting.

The Chair opened discussion on revisions to the Senate by-laws. After general discussion Keogh proposed a <u>Motion</u> "That the bylaws revision dated Sept 14th be accepted for adoption as rewritten at our next meeting". Burkhardt second.

Discussion ensued around the following topics: \* adding more staff representation so that everyone is represented in the same manner as faculty, rather than by campus. The Chair noted that the University Senate was set up to be a faculty majority group) \* making graduate and undergraduate representation more proportionate. Several amendments were proposed and voted upon.

Squire proposed a <u>Motion</u> "to amend the revised bylaws such that the *Diversity Committee*" be renamed the *Diversity and Social Justice Committee*". P. Johnson seconded.

After discussion, the question was called and the motion failed with the following vote:

For - 5

Against - 20

Abstentions- 2

Embrick proposed a <u>Motion</u> "to amend the revised bylaws such that in Section 8 *Voting Rights* would be extended to Staff and Faculty Council Chairs as ex officio member." V. Keogh seconded.

After discussion, the question was called and the motion failed with the following vote:

For - 4

Against - 17

Abstentions – 4

# APPROVED October 31, 2014

**C. Peterson** proposed a <u>Motion</u> "to amend Section III number to change 'or' to read 'and/or'". T. Lacy seconded.

After discussion the question was called and the motion failed with the following vote:

For - 5

Against - 11

Abstentions - 8

The question was called on the motion on the floor "That the bylaws revision dated Sept 14th be accepted for adoption as rewritten at our next meeting" and the motion carried with the following vote:

For - 23

Against - 3

Abstentions - 0

## **IV Standing Committees Assignments and Chair Elections**

The Chair declared a 5 minute recess for the Standing Committees to meet and determine if they wished to present nominees for Chair and Vice-Chair positions. Upon reconvening the Chair asked for nominees for Committee Chair and Vice-Chair positions.

No nominees were received for Chair/Vice-Chair of Academic Affairs & Research and the positions remain unfilled.

- T. Kelly and M. Udo were nominated as Co-Chairs of the Budgeting and Strategic Planning Committee. Because the election was uncontested the Chair declared them elected by acclamation.
- D. Squire was nominated as Chair of the Diversity Committee. Because the election was uncontested the Chair declared him elected by acclamation.
- T. Lacy was nominated as Chair of the Faculty Affairs & Staff Affairs Committee. Because the election was uncontested the Chair declared him elected by acclamation.
- R. Martin was nominated as Chair of the Student Development and Success Committee. Because the election was uncontested the Chair declared him elected by acclamation.

No nominees were received for Chair/Vice-Chair of the Bylaws and Elections Committee and the positions remain unfilled.

### V. Adjournment

The Chair noted that the next meeting will be held on Oct 31, 4th floor of the Information Commons, LSC. The meeting was adjourned at 5:02 pm

Respectfully Submitted

Joyce D. Knight, Secretary, University Senate